Makeup Tutorial; Met Gala Lorde

Hello lovelies,

So, as I’m sure you all have heard, the 2015 MET Gala was last night. Hundreds of A-List celebrities were there, all dressed to the nines. Of course, I was mesmerized by their beautiful gowns, but as an aspiring makeup artist, what I was really interested in was their makeup ❤

met lorde 1

Lorde freaking blew me away. I mean, I love her music, but she looked especially stunning last night and I was inspired to try and recreate her look!

met 15

Obviously it’s not the exact same, but it was a lot of fun and tried really hard!


Let’s get started!

First, here’s just a picture of my eye without any makeup!

met. 1

met 2Alright, so, the first thing I did was put Tease on 3/4 of my eyelid, completely avoiding the inner corner. I did this with my handy dandy EcoTools Eyeshadow brush!

 

 

 

 

 

met 3I used the same eyeshadow and placed in the same area, but on my bottom lash line!

 

 

 

 

 

met 4Next, I outlined my outer wing with Urban Decay Blackout. I used a really small gel eyeliner brush to achieve this. Basically, I just drew a line straight out from my lid and then connected it to my crease. In other words, it’s an open wing!

 

 

 

met 5I used Blackout again, and put this in 1/4 of my bottom lash line, closest to the outer corner.

 

 

 

 

met 6Then I filled in the little open wing with Black Out by Urban Decay!

 

 

 

 

 

met 7And I put a really stark white inner corner highlight in the inner corner of my eye, lol! This product is a shimmer eyeshadow by the older Mary Kate and Ashley makeup brand, but I’ll link a similar product below! Also, I apologize for the weird lighting…

 

 

met 8Next, I added more Black Out to the outer corner of my eye. I wanted this look to be as similar to Lorde’s as possible, so I carefully blended out this black eyeshadow to make it look smokey and not choppy! I also lined my top lash line with Maybelline Eye Studio Gel liner! I also noticed that she didn’t have a huge brow bone highlight, so I used Urban Decay Foxy for that!

 

met 9Then I filled in the open wing with the same Gel liner I used on my top lash line. Looking back, Lorde’s wing looks less intense, so maybe don’t fill in your wing as much as I did! I think I just got carried away! I also put some of the gel liner on my bottom lash line, but just in the outer corner! I also noticed that Lorde’s shadow had some warmth in it, so I added Mary Kay eyeshadow in Silky Caramel to the crease to warm it up!

met 10Next, I put a black kohl eyeliner in the outer corner of my bottom water line. Lorde’s water line didn’t look completely bare, but it was definitely hard to tell!

 

 

 

 

met 11Finally, I put on my favorite mascara of all time, Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara, on my top and bottom lashes. Lorde didn’t have any crazy false lashes that I could tell, so I just went for mascara!

 

 

 

 

met

And here’s the completed look! For foundation, I used my two tried and true products for this look: my Sigma F80 Flattop Kabuki brush and  L’Oréal True Match Lumi. I really think this is one of the greatest drugstore foundations! Lorde didn’t look like she had too much of a contour, but I put a little bit of my glominerals bronzer in sunkiss on my cheeks with my Nars Ita brush.  For blush, I used a very warm pink color. The Mary Kay Blush in Strawberry Cream is soo pretty and so pigmented! As usual, I tamed my brows with the Maybelline Brow Drama brow mascara.

Now, the lips were very tricky.  This is my last week of school, so I packed up the majority of my belongings and took them home over the weekend. That being said, I had very limited resources to complete this look! I ended up using  LimeCrime lipstick in Babette with Jordana Liner in Tawny on top.  That didn’t look quite as warm as Lorde’s lips, so I put a very light coat of my OCC Lip Tar in Queen on top of that.  It still didn’t look right, so I ended up using my finger to put my Milani blush in Luminoso over that to make it more coral-y!! haha! I love using products for what they weren’t originally intended for!

Phew, that was a lot writing! I hope you didn’t get bored halfway through!! I just wanted to thank you all so much for reading my posts, and congrats if you made it this far! I know this is a long one!!

Let me know if you liked this! It was so much fun trying to recreate this look, and I did genuinely try my best!

Can’t wait to talk to you all soon!

And please follow me!!

-Ryane ❤


Makeup Details:

Brushes:

met 13

9 thoughts on “Makeup Tutorial; Met Gala Lorde

Leave a Reply

