I got my makeup done at Sephora; May 2015

Hi everybody,

Today I went to Sephora and got my free VIB Complementary Makeover. It was so much fun, the Color Consultant (Alysha) who was working with me was so nice and so helpful and she taught me so much! I asked for a more natural look that I could wear everyday and that’s exactly what she did! 🙂

This makeup look included a lot more makeup than I am used to. I’d like to think that I don’t put that much makeup on regularly, but obviously people may disagree.

sephora 2sephora 1

Here’s a peek at my makeover! 🙂

So, I was thinking I could list and give a quick review of the products that she put on me! 🙂

Skincare Details:

sephora 3

Moisturizer. Clarimatte T-Zone Control Cleansing Gel. I have been struggling trying to find a nice facial moisturizer. Long story short, I used my old one for six years and recently it has been making me super oily, like a disco ball. This new product felt so good. I am definitely going to go back and purchase this moisturizer!

She used a lot of other products on my face, but honestly, I don’t remember them all, and this was the only one that stuck out to me! I should have written it down! Don’t worry, I took careful notes during the makeup portion!

Makeup Details:

sephora 4Primer. So, I have some larger pores around my nose area, and until recently, I have used the L’Oreal Youth Code Texture Perfector Pore Vanisher. And it’s okay. But, today I was introduced to the Smashbox Photo Finish Oil Free Foundation Primer Pore Minimizing. And it’s a life changer. I seriously bought it the second my makeover was over! I am in love! It works so well, is light on the skin, and you can use it underneath foundation or just by itself!

sephora 5Foundation. It’s no secret that I am obsessed with the Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation. It has been my jam for the past couple of months. Seriously, my holy grail foundation. However, today I tried the Laura Mercier Silk Créme Oil Free Photo Edition Foundation and I actually liked it.  Alysha described this as a medium to full coverage foundation. However, I found that after a few hours of wear, the places where she put two layers of foundation looked really cake-y. But the places where she only put one layer looked so good and flawless! Also, I thought she matched the color gorgeously to my skin! I’ll definitely consider going back and purchasing this foundation. I still think the Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation is my favorite.

sephora 6Under eye Concealer. The NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer is a cult fave. Everybody raves about it and it’s supposed to be amazing. It felt good and light, and I honestly couldn’t really tell I was wearing it, but I walked by a mirror a couple of hours and it was crease-y and I don’t think it was my color. Overall, I was not impressed by this concealer, however, I do feel like I should give it another try because you always have to set your concealer, and maybe that was the problem?

 

 

sephora 7Under eye Setting Powder. Alysha used the NARS Light Reflecting Loose Setting Powder to set my under eye concealer. This is translucent, but almost has a sheen to it! I don’t know if this was the reason my under eye concealer creased, but I was just not into it.

 

 

sephora 8Bronzer/Contour. Okay, so, I use the glominerals bronzer in sunkiss like it is my freaking job. And I don’t even want to look at that stuff anymore. I have found a new love. (I’m being a little over dramatic). Alysha used the Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer. And it gave me life. It’s definitely a cooler-toned bronzer compared to my usual glominerals one. I was surprised by how much I like it, and I am so excited to go and purchase it!

sephora 9Cream Eyeshadow. I asked for more of a “natural” look and told her that I like a lot of browns. Normally I don’t go for anything super sparkly, but I said “why not?” and was pleasantly surprised by the look! 🙂 The first all over the lid color Alysha used was the Laura Mercier Caviar Stick Eye Colour in Copper. It is so gorgeous and pigmented and shimmery! Not something I would gravitate normally, but I definitely can’t deny that it was gorgeous!

 

 

sephora 10Eyeshadow (Crease). Urban Decay is my ish. Seriously, I love their eyeshadow formulations. They are wonderful. I was not surprised by how much I loved Urban Decay Beware. It’s a perfect matte warm medium brown color. A perfect transition color!

 

 

 

sephora 11Eyeliner. Marc Jacobs is simply a genius. The Highliner Gel Eye Crayon is so cool because it’s a gel eyeliner in pencil form!!! (mind=blown). Alysha put Brown on me. I generally like my eyeliner to be black. Yes, I dabble with nude and white, but black seems to really work on me. I wasn’t a huge fan on the color, but the product was flipping amazing!!!

 

 

sephora 12Mascara. I am convinced nothing will ever replace Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara. I think it’s just the perfect mascara. I did try something new and used the YSL Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils. It didn’t make my lashes look quite as long as when I use Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara. It was definitely more of a natural mascara. I’m all about my lashes looking long and thick, so this didn’t really do it for me.

 

 

sephora 13Lips. Liquid lipsticks are all the rage. To complete our look, we used a mauve-y color. It kinda reminded us of the Kylie Jenner look. Anyways, it was called the Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick in Canvas. It’s a pretty color, but the formula really dried out my lips and you know that weird line I got when I reviewed the OCC Lip Tar? Yeah? I got that again. But it really was a gorgeous color, just drying.

 

 


Okay, so that completes all the makeup and reviews! I honestly think the best way to try out makeup to make sure it absolutely does (not) work for you, it to wear it multiple times. Unfortunately, I don’t have the money to purchase all the makeup I want to try out and I hate returning things, so this is a really good alternative. Also, I looooooooooooove getting my makeup done and getting pampered, it’s wonderful! If you guys ever get a chance, you should definitely get a makeover at Sephora, the Color Consultants are really nice and tell you exactly what they are doing! Anyways, I’m finally done talking!

Comment below if you have any ideas for my next post!

Can’t wait to talk to all of you soon!

And please follow me!!

-Ryane ❤

22 thoughts on “I got my makeup done at Sephora; May 2015

  1. stashmatters says:

    Oh, you’re the first person to say that the Nars conceal is crease-y! Everyone raves about it. Maybe I just need to have them apply it under my eyes to see how it works on me.
    And YES, Laura Mercier Cream eyeshadow sticks are amazing – I want more colours. And double YES, Marc Jacobs gel liner is AMAZING! It’s one of my go-to for budge-proof liner, and it’s so smooth to apply too. I still kick myself for not buying the mini set at Christmas.
    Oh NO, about the Hourglass lipstick – it’s on my wish list (that exact shade too!). Again, I may have to test it before I commit.
    You look very lovely – it IS fun getting your makeup done! Did you buy anything?
    It was great that you did a review of the products she used on you – very helpful.

    Like

    • ryanezamora12 says:

      I know! I was so disappointed, I really really wanted to like it!! You should definitely try it out yourself because everyone is different!
      The color payoff for the Hourglass lipstick is freaking AMAZING!!!! 🙂
      After my appointment I bought the Smashbox Pore minimizing primer ❤ and I'm seriously considering going to get the Laura Mercier foundation!!
      I'm glad you liked the review 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • stashmatters says:

        I am curious about that LM foundation too – it was recommended to me after I had to return the MUFE HD Invisible Cover Foundation because it broke me out. I agree though, she did match you really well in that foundation.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sprinkle of Surprise says:

    Hey!! Oh no, you’re making me nervous about the nars concealer! i just bought it-as i mentioned in my post-i hope it works well on me.
    Also how did you get the free VIB Complementary Makeover? How does someone get that? Looks awesome, so i’d love to know how to qualify for that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ryanezamora12 says:

      Don’t be nervous!! It could have been the way I set it! I hope it works out for you!
      Also, to be qualified for the VIB Complementary Makeover all you have to do is get to VIB status at Sephora, as soon as you become a VIB they give you cute little perks and one of them is the Makeover! 🙂

      Like

      • ryanezamora12 says:

        Oh!!!! Okay! I understand now! Sorry!!
        1) To get to VIB status you first have to sign up for Sephora’s Beauty Insider “program”. It doesn’t cost anything and basically what happens is every time you buy something you get points (1 dollar=1 point). If you spend $500 in a calendar year you become a VIB (Very Important Beauty Insider). Also, you can redeem your points for goodies. They have 100 point goodies, 250 point goodies, and 500 point goodies. The next level up is VIB Rouge, which means you spent $1000 in a calendar year. I really like this system. Yes, you end up spending a lot of money, but I really do think it’s worth it!
        2) I heard that MAC emphasize powder or Anastasia Beverly Hills Banana powder are really good for setting the under eye area!!! You should give those a try 🙂
        I hope I answered your question this time! Feel free to comment again with any other questions :))

        Like

      • Sprinkle of Surprise says:

        Thats so awesome! How do i sign up for that program? And is there a rewards card or something we get? How would the store people know that we bought what item in order to get us our points? Like how is that all worked out? Sounds like a good plan so i would love to be a part of it!
        So i used the nars concealer today and i actually am pretty happy with it, so far at least. the coverage is pretty good and i didnt get any creases, i wore it for about 4 hours. I’m gonna wear it again tomorrow, for longer amount of time, so lets see how that works. I havent checked those products out but i will! Do you use either of them yourself?

        Like

      • ryanezamora12 says:

        You can just go to Sephora and say you want to sign up! I think you get a card? But I know you can just tell them every time you check out. I know VIB and VIB Rouge people get cards for sure!
        YAY! I’m so glad the concealer worked out for you 🙂 I don’t use either products because I normally don’t use concealer under my eyes!

        Like

      • Sprinkle of Surprise says:

        So guess what! I went to the sephora website and tried to log in, and it worked! seems like i already signed up online and i have 97 points! hahah! who knew! i love this! thanks so much for letting me know about it, so glad i decided to check the website out today myself to see if it would work! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

